Artistes à la Une

“The situation of an artiste is a humble one. He is essentially a channel.”
Pietr Mondrian

Marcus Campbell

Sculptor - Painter

"When young I worked in the theatre. There was never enough money, so  I made sets, costumes, furniture, jewellery and accesories out of nothing. Of things that I found in the rubbish dump.

Now, I make my art works the same way. I like rust. Rusted metal and wire, along with decayed wood, bone, feathers and old cloth. I usually combine two or three materials. Normally, I work between the genres: figurative imagery and abstract form or pattern. I use two or three materials in unexpected combinations.  I try to create sculptures that have the qualities of graffiti and abstract painting at the same time."

Hervé Bonhouvrier

Visual Artist

The visual artist Hervé Bonhouvrier is fascinated by the Empty and the Full- the Empty through monochrome, and the Full through repeated patterns (serial art) and the abundance of collected objects. He conceives monochrome as a way towards infinity, a surface which is open to an inner experience, halfway between the expression of the absolute and nihilist laughter. The genre gives infinite possibilities for invention. The Monochrome, having no other meaning than itself, forms an organic visual whole. While walking, the artist collects objects which talk to him, showcasing anything that has been abandoned or lost, as if he wanted to clean up the world: clothes, fabric, shoes, toys, litter, cigarettes packs, bits of plastic etc…
All are small memories, full of personal or collective history which feed back to the idea of loss, of being forgotten or wiped out from memory.  He then organizes all these fragments, as an accumulation, for his artwork.

Are you a professional?
Access all our collections by creating your Professional Account

Artistes à la Une

“La situation de l’artiste est humble. Il est essentiellement un canal.”
Pietr Mondrian

Marcus Campbell

Sculpteur / Peintre

"Dans ma jeunesse je bossais dans l'univers du théâtre. Comme on n'avait jamais d'argent, je créais les décors, les costumes, les accessoires et les bijoux à partir de rien, bien souvent à partir de matériaux glanés dans les déchetteries...

Aujourd'hui je crée mes œuvres de la même façon. J 'aime la rouille, le fil de fer et le métal rouillé marié au bois vermoulu, aux os, aux plumes et aux tissus usagés. J'utilise deux ou trois matériaux en combinaisons imprévues et mes recherches tendent presque toujours a créer des oeuvres ou des sculptures qui réunissent les qualités du graffiti et de l'art abstrait."

Hervé Bonhouvrier

Artiste Plasticien

L’artiste plasticien Hervé Bonhouvrier s’intéresse au vide et au plein - le vide par le monochrome, le plein par la répétition d’un motif (œuvres sérielles) et la profusion d'objets de récupération. Il conçoit le monochrome comme un passage vers l’infini, une surface qui s’ouvre à une expérience intérieure, entre la manifestation de l’absolu et le rire nihiliste. Le genre offre d’inépuisables possibilités d’invention. N’ayant d’autre signification que lui-même, le monochrome forme un tout visuel organique. L’artiste, en marchant, ramasse l’objet qui le sollicite, met en valeur tout ce qui est abandonné ou perdu, comme pour dépolluer le monde : vêtements, tissus, chaussures, jouets, détritus, paquets de cigarettes, morceaux de plastique, etc. Ce sont autant de petites mémoires chargées d’une histoire personnelle ou collective qui renvoient à l’idée de perte, d’oubli et d’effacement de la mémoire. Puis il organise tous ces fragments, sous forme d’accumulations, pour ses tableaux.

Vous êtes un professionnel ?
Accédez à l'ensemble de nos Collections en créant votre Compte Professionnel